Frankie74

Another newbie, Medicare question??

Hi ladies ?

I'm very new to all this including this site, looking forward to reading all your stories!

Well I'm going to see the surgeon on the 25th Feb with a referral from

my GP for a TT and a BL for chronic back pain.

does anyone know if it will be covered by Medicare (well the parts they do)

Thanks heaps

Frankie

Hi babe.

I'm not having a TT or BL but I am ha I g a BA and Medicare did come to the party for me because I had a "congenital" reason for it. I got item codes for it and it all needs to be approved by your plastic (can't be a cosmetic) surgeon first and then you get money back. I'm getting $1255 for a BA :) hope that helps

If you have private health insurance the hospital stay and theatre fees of your tummy tuck are covered (that's what I have been told). With the breastlift part the surgeon has to take photos and send them in to be approved. I personally think that is a joke. If the surgeon says a breastlift is required I think that should be enough to get the rebate. If you don't have private health insurance for the tummy tuck you do get a small rebate but it really isn't much. I was told by one surgeon $13K for tummy tuck with private health insurance and $19k without. I was also told by my redo surgeons secretary to make sure I do have private health insurance as the hospital stay alone is almost $5K.

Oh my really? Send photos in?? That's a bit extreme isn't it? Privacy doesn't mean much does it?

I might ring them tomorrow as I like to know, and maybe get the ball rolling a little.

What about if I have the all the proof of the arthritis in my spine??

It's all to hard ?

The Plastic Surgeon will let you know what you are covered for including how much Medicare rebate (if any) you will get. You'll find this out at your consultation.