Sign in to follow this  
kashka

Medicare and Private Health cover for BA

Hi girls.

So today my surgeons assistant called to tell me that I have been grated Medicare approval for my breast augmentation (I have tuberous breasts) :D

Anyway, I have never had private health (im a dental nurse and get trt done for free, so paying for private health when I dont really needed seem pointless), however my Drs assisstant has said now that I have medicare approval I can get private health cover for my BA too... I looked into it and cover would cost me approx $100 a month for 12 months (Im not sure how much I would actually get covered). It would also mean I would have to wait to get a BA, Im currently booked in for Jan 13th 2014.

Im just unsure if its necessary to get the private cover? Im sure girls have gotten BAs without private health beofre right? Im aware of the benefits, but Im paying for this by cash and Ive been saving so hard for so long, I just dont want to bloody wait, especially if I wont get "that" much back...

My main reason for wanting it sooner is that im in Uni holidays and I wanted as much recovery time as I could get before I go back to uni and to work.

Hi Kashka,

My BA is costing all up about $14,500 inc surgeons fees hospital and anaethetist. Im told medicare will cover around $750 of my surgeons fees and also some of the anaethetist fees as well. I dont have private health insurance and my hospital fees are $2959. Im not sure how much private health would cover if i had it but that gives u a rough idea of what ull be in for :-)

That's what my problem is I don't know of it's "worth it"

Medicare is paying $1250, which is my hospital fee and my anaesthetist fee is $800...

My BA is 11,300 that's for everything, so I just take away Medicare and that's what I have to pay...

I don't know if I want to wait another 12months when I have the money etc now...