Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Parklee101 November 8th, 2017

Breast Reconstruction

I had breast reconstruction by Dr Choy 3 months ago and I could not be happier with the result. After having breast cancer treatment with mastectomy and chemo and radiotherapy 5 years ago I was left with a deformity that really bothered me during this period of time. I initially had a breast implant reconstruction by another doctor but unfortunately it got rejected as a result of infection. I was then referred by my breast surgeon to see Dr Choy for help and he did a DIEP free flap for my salvage breast reconstruction. I now have a new perkier breast and a flat tummy. Really happy that I made the decision to have this life changing surgery by Dr Choy. Thank you.
Mr Shagun Aggarwal

Shagun Aggarwal

5 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

February 20th, 2018

Breast Reconstruction

Shagun is a very talented plastic surgeon. He is also very caring and you never feel rushed during initial discussion and followup appointments. I consulted with him to have a right breast reconstruction done after a mastectomy. At age 65 I was concerned about the difficulty of matching my existing breast and whether the operation might prove difficult for me to recover from. He is a magician and now when I wear summer clothes and a swimming costume you would not be able to tell which breast has had the reconstruction. My recovery from the surgery went well and I'm so glad to have had this procedure done so successfully.
Mr Matthew Peters

Matthew Peters

6 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
Queensland, Australia

Annette.T. November 29th, 2017

Breast Implant Removal, Liposuction, Breast Reconstruction, Tummy Tuck Revision

In November 2017 at the age of 50 yrs old I underwent breast implant removal, breast reconstruction, tummy tuck revision and liposuction of my thighs by Dr Matthew Peters Valley Plastic Surgery, My surgery has been outstanding with results that exceeded my expectations, after 29yrs of searching for my pre baby body, Dr Matthew Peters has given me a much better body than my pre baby body back and I am extremely grateful and so proud of his surgery, so I share my story to help others from the moment I rang reception to meeting with this extremely talented surgeon, whom made me feel so comfortable, to my after care with Nurse Claire my experience has been outstanding Thankyou so much Dr Matt Peters and team you have changed my life and I look forward to my future with my amazing new body, forever grateful and so proud , Annette T. Brisbane
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

RosJurotte123 August 16th, 2017

Breast Reduction, Breast Reconstruction

From finding out that I had breast cancer in 2013, and after having mastectomy, reconstruction was not on my radar. I was then referred to Dr Choy by my breast surgeon for consideration of breast reconstruction. After a thorough discussion with Dr Choy who I found very down to earth, easy to talk to and explaining things the way that I could understand, I then decided to have a DIEP free flap breast reconstruction followed by a symmetry breast reduction and I could not be happier with the surgical results and feeling whole again! I am forever grateful to Dr Choy's amazing work and care throughout my surgical journey.
 Craig Rubinstein

Craig Rubinstein

28 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
Victoria, Australia

GreenandYellow July 12th, 2017

Breast Augmentation, Breast Implant Removal, Breast Reconstruction

I am a mum of a young boy and after breast feeding for 15months it was time I looked to correct them. I never really had nice looking breasts, they were a good B cup but set handing with the areola so large it was taking most of the breast area. So not nice. This was a big decision for me as I take any surgery seriously especially when it's elective. I was recommended to many however Dr Rubinstein was by far the best. But it's not even just about him, it's the whole experience. From the moment you enter into the practice the staff greet you with kindness and a smile, not just an other number. The fact is every single patience has their own emotional journey for whatever procedure they are there for and they seam thoughtful of this. I especially loved Kate, Dr Rubinstein's nurse. I had five star treatment from start to today. Dr Rubinstein is funny, kind and for once I met a surgeon who didn't make it all about himself. Honestly all other surgeons spoke so much about themselves they hardly took the time to get to know me. From the consultations to the surgery the service remained consistent. He has his own private team at the hospital and you know you are being taken care of. He was open and honest that he was trying to do so much in the one surgery that there was a possibility for a small correction, however it did not bother me one bit, as I appreciated the honesty and desire to get it perfect. My case was not a straight forward one, I wanted a breast lift with NO implants and I wanted them to look beautiful with no assistance per say. One breast was larger than the other etc.. Post surgery, the stitches were internal and so delicate, the incision he made, was simply the straightest neatest cut I've ever seen and I was up and about straight away. His team is A+, kind but highly skilled. The next day Kate came to visit with a little pack of peppermint tea, arnica and other kind, thoughtful things for my recovery. I was very impressed! I also received a call after my one night in hospital to find out how my first night at home went etc. Post surgery it's now been 8 weeks and they are stunning. Honestly I can't say how happy in am. They are perfect. I'm a little puzzled as to how he achieved this result with no implants etc. The only tiny little thing is that the right nipple and areola may be slightly too high but that specific breast is still a little puffy and needs time to settle, wont be surprised if it just shifted right into place. When I mentioned this to Dr Rubinstein, he agreed and said to give it time. He never once tried to make it out that it wasn't there or that I was
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Anna369 June 7th, 2017

Tummy Tuck, Breast Reconstruction

I was diagnosed with primary breast cancer in November 2016 at the age of 48. To me, not having a family history, religiously following clean lifestyle, always being healthy and active, the diagnosis was a complete shock! In my surgeon’s view, I was an ideal candidate for an immediate breast reconstruction. While I fully trusted my surgeon’s opinion, it was extremely hard mentally and emotionally to take a decision that soon. I was also not sure if I really wanted breast reconstruction done. After initial research and lots of considerations, I chose to go through bilateral mastectomy while delaying a decision about breast reconstruction. I was scared and future looked uncertain, but my wonderful husband always showed his great support and gentle care through that very difficult time for both of us. Within three months of post-surgery period it was quite clear to me that I want my breasts back! I did extensive research of breast reconstruction options available, scrutinising all related pros and cons. At that point, I decided that the DIEP flap reconstruction was an ideal option for me. The idea of having breasts made of my own tissue using skin/fat/blood vessels taken from the abdomen area with muscle sparing concept, plus getting a tummy tuck sounded like a science fiction! When I visited Dr.Choy's office I was very impressed with its stylish design and warm welcoming by his office staff members. During the appointment, Dr. Choy really took his time, to having very informative and caring discussion with me regarding the upcoming surgery. The pictures of his patients before/after he provided were very helpful. Dr. Ellis Choy’s approach of learning about patient ‘s personal story, interests and expectations through warm and frank talk perfectly explains his professionalism, genuinely kind personality and true passion for the amazing work that he does. After that very first appointment I felt just very confident that I’m in the very best of hands! I had a double DIEP free flap breast reconstruction on 7 of June 2017, my recovery was amazingly smooth and fast. I was told that with the DIEP flaps, it is difficult to stand up straight, but I did only a few days after surgery and at 4 weeks post-surgery I was ready to dance! I was very fortunate having Dr. Ellis Choy and his highly skilled surgical team performing the procedure. Dr. Ellis Choy and his team members were extremely attentive and visited me at the hospital on a daily basis, monitoring my progress . My stay in the hospital was really easy with wonderful care. I was discharged from the hospital after only 7 days , walking straight and with no drains! I am beyond thrilled with the results I have seen immediately after surgery. My new breasts from the first day look and feel like my originals! Needless to say, I’m very happy getting a beautiful flat tummy for the rest of my life! I’m forever grateful to Dr. Ellis Choy and his wonderful team!
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Kelly06 November 23rd, 2016

Breast Reconstruction

I initially had a breast lift and breast augmentation in July 2015, with another surgeon, where my results were far from optimal. My circumstances were not simple as I had tuberous breasts and sagging. After my first surgery, I was very disappointed with the results and how my scarring was progressing. I consulted my surgeon about this concern but I got advised, “that it is completely fine and that everyone scars differently”. After this advice, I considered that perhaps it was normal and that I was just being over conscious. I had quite a large thick scar that surrounded my areola area where I was supposed to have my areolas reduced. It wasn’t just the scarring that bothered me but the position of my nipples. I constantly consulted my surgeon and their team about my concerns but they were brushed off with comments like “their sisters not twins”. I then revisited the surgery for the last time but asked to see a different surgeon. This surgeon advised me that he could fix my concern but it would be through another surgery. I was quite upset and angry as you could imagine. I decided not to go back to this surgery as the service and skills were far from optimal. I came across the Plastic Surgery forum where l looked at numerous cases of other women with similar circumstances. The one that stood out to me was Dr. Choy. I notice on his website that he had performed many surgeries with similar circumstances to my initial case and their results were fantastic. I also noticed that he performs many reconstruction cases, which I also looked into. I became very confident that Dr. Choy would be able to achieve my desired outcome from my research so contacted his practice and scheduled an appointment to meet him as soon as possible. In the interim, I spoke to the Cosmetic surgery consult which provided me with all the information that I was required to bring to the appointment. She was so empathic towards my situation, which made me at ease straight away. I then had my consult with Dr. Choy where my partner accompanied me for support. Dr Choy first asked me what my expectations were and why I wanted to proceed with reconstruction surgery. I explained to him that I was very disappointed with my results and that I felt very hurt from my previous surgeon that just explained, “that all scars are different” and “their sisters not twins”. I explained to Dr. Choy that I wanted my breast as similar as possible and the scarring to be to a minimal. Dr. Choy was very thorough in his process and explained the limitations and possible outcomes of the procedure. After this consult, I went home and spoke to my partner thoroughly about this and then decided to go ahead with the surgery with the reconstruction surgery. My results have been fantastic so far. The scarring is healing well.
 Dean Trotter

Dean Trotter

13 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
Victoria, Australia

Theresa G January 1st, 1970

Breast Reconstruction

I can't praise Dean Trotter and his team enough. Following being diagnosed with DCIS, I had to have breast reconstruction involving a tummy tuck and and two fat grafting procedures. Dean's 'workmanship' and before and after care was just fantastic. I feel and look great and natural. I highly recommend Dean Trotter to anyone considering plastic surgery. His work is great. with even the nurses at the hospitals I attended, commending how neat the stitches were. What was a very daunting set of procedures was made so much easier with Dean and his team's professional caring manner. Thank you so much to everyone involved, you made a very daunting experience so much easier and given me my dignity as a woman back. Can't thank you all enough.
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Kirstin December 7th, 2016

Breast Reconstruction

When I was sixteen, my auntie was diagnosed with breast cancer and given six months to live. So when I found my first lump at age 24 I immediately sought medical attention and was treated for a DCIS. For almost 15 years things seemed to be good and any lumps that appeared were nothing that I needed to worry about. Then 2006 I lost my mum to cancer, which came as a massive shock as she was only 53 years old. In 2007 I moved to Australia, where I then made the decision to undergo a breast reduction. My breasts were a 14GG in size and causing me to feel under confident about the way I looked and gave me terrible backache. I first encountered Dr Choy in 2012 when I was referred to him for my breast reduction procedure. To begin with he was not keen to take me on as a patient as I was over weight and the risks would have been too great. But he was very patient and sat with me to explain the procedure and its magnitude should I still choose to go through it when I lost the weight. The procedures that were explained were either a breast reduction or a mastectomy with a rebuild, given my family history of cancer. I then met with the Chris O’Brien life house foundation nurses to discuss my family history and options and after 3 visits over a 16 month time frame to Doctor Choy, he saw my determination to undergo this procedure and when I found a further lump I knew the decision I had to make. I opted for the double mastectomy with immediate DIEP free flap reconstruction using my abdominal tissues. I am very thankful to Dr Choy and his team for all the hard work that they have given me and for the way in which after such huge surgeries they have made me feel. As I mentioned earlier before the surgery I felt fat and ugly I felt like my chest was the first thing that entered the room and that it was all that men ever spoke to, rather that to me as a person. Now however I walk with my head held high and feel a million dollars. Even though I have scars they are minimal and neatly finished, and now my chest is a natural size and my stomach is much flatter. Would I recommend this process to others in my position? Yes. However I would also recommend that your sit down and talk through the process and ensure that you are mentally ready for what you will go through. Would I recommend Dr Choy and his Team? Without a doubt, their skills and abilities are the best I have experienced and their patience to explain and ensure that I understood everything was the best. And thanks to all they have done, I know that for me – the BEST is yet to come!
 Richard Rahdon

Richard Rahdon

20 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
Victoria, Australia

Alba January 23rd, 2017

Breast Reconstruction

After being diagnosed with DCIS I had two lumpectomies unfortunately an MRI revealed more cells so my only option was a skin sparing mastectomy, I chose to have immediate reconstruction at the same time, this meant I would need a plastic surgeon. Having had an excellent breast surgeon I assumed the referred plastic surgeon would be equally great, how niave I was, his nurse offered me a discount voucher on a nice Lacey bra when "this" was all over, then the surgeon could not understand why I wanted the less invasive implant reconstruction as opposed and to a more complex and expensive TRAM flap reconstruction "most women would love a tummy tuck" he exclaimed...really !!! I wasn't there like most women to improve and enhance what I already had, I was there to replace what I was about to loose...so the search was on to find another surgeon,. My mastectomy was my secret , I couldn't exactly ask around for Plastic Surgeon recommendations ! so google it was, I found many, one of which was Richard Rahdon, admittedly his reviews were more about happy ladies loving thier new breasts and tummies loving Richard, and lots of before and after pics to prove how great they looked, however I could not find much about reconstruction, I decided to organize a referral just the same, I met with him and he listened to me, he explained all my options , all the risks, he was very honest about the potential outcomes and I appreciated that. Mastectomy is not pretty and it is important to have medical professionals that you are comfortable with and treat you with respect and dignity and a bit of humor thrown in, because sometimes you just have to laugh ! Richard was all of the above and more, prior to the first surgery I asked him if he was confident he looked at me and said he was, I believed him , the surgery went very well and the next equally as well. Post surgery care was excellent , it has been 2 months since the final surgery, recon took six months ( I had an expander) In clothing my breasts look much better than they ever did before the mastectomy side looks a little different compared to the other side without clothing however he got them pretty close.... aaaaand I don't have to wear a bra if I don't want to.. yay!!!! If you are reading this and about to embark upon the mastectomy -reconstructive roller coaster I highly recommend you take Richard Rahdon along for the ride.
Mr Matthew Peters

Matthew Peters

6 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
Queensland, Australia

Michelle V January 1st, 2016

Breast Reconstruction

I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2016 and was fortunate enough to be referred to Dr Matthew Peters from Valley Plastic Surgery. He is a very competent, skillful and compassionate doctor. During my 9 hour surgery I was given a bilateral mastectomy and tram flap reconstruction. I could not be happier with the outcome. I would highly recommend Dr Peters and his dedicated staff. They made my journey so much easier and I will be forever grateful.
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Ash73 September 7th, 2016

Breast Reconstruction

My mother was diagnosed with breast cancer at 38 years old and she unfortunately passed away at 45 years. The loss of my mother and the fear of being diagnosed myself (my mother had no sisters but two of her aunts also succumbed to the disease at a young age) has always being a worry for me and I have been vigilant with yearly mammograms and ultrasounds. Last year I had private genetic testing and was found to be carrying a gene which along with my family history put me into a higher risk category for breast cancer. My breasts were extremely dense, with numerous fibroids, cysts, and papillomas. I had numerous biopsies and lumpectomies over the years and the anxiety and stress was quite unbearable most of the time; I would literally be physically ill when it came around to the yearly mammograms. When I tested positive for the gene I began to seriously consider having a preventative mastectomy. I consulted a breast surgeon to discuss having a preventative mastectomy and he referred me to Dr Ellis Choy, in Northbridge. The next day his secretary gave me a call and arranged my first consultation, it been pretty much plain sailing with Dr Choy and his staff from that moment on. At this stage and after a lot of personal careful consideration I was very clear in my mind that I definitely wanted to go ahead with the mastectomy. This is a very personal decision for any woman to make and for some preventative mastectomy will not be the choice that they make, my sister for example has opted for surveillance. I feel that I was extremely fortunate to be referred to Dr Choy for this surgery. I was quite nervous about the first consultation but he put me at ease straight away. Dr Choy explained all the different options that they were available to me of which there were many. I really felt that I was in the best position I could be in this situation, no stone was left unturned in explaining all my options to me. He showed me many pictures of breast reconstructions he had carried out and what outcomes could be achieved for me. I felt that Dr Choy would be happy for me to sit in his office all day asking questions; there was a lot to talk about on that first consultation and when I left I felt confident about Dr Choy carrying out the procedure - which would be an elective bilateral nipple sparing mastectomy with immediate reconstruction with implants & dermal matrix. The surgery was scheduled for two months later. Dr Choy and his team looked after me pre-op and post-op to an extremely high standard, I could not have received better care and attention. If you are considering this type of surgery I could not recommend Dr Choy and his team any higher. The results are absolutely outstanding, Dr Choy’s plastic surgery skills are outstanding. My breasts look even better than before and I couldn't be happier. It is pretty much impossible to tell that I have had any surgery at all. I am very happy that I decided to have the mastectomy and the amazing surgical journey with Dr Choy.
 Jeremy Hunt

Jeremy Hunt

32 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Katherine Tragaris September 16th, 2015

Breast Reconstruction

I cannot thank you enough for your quality of care, professionalism and concern that was demonstrated by all the staff. To you Dr Hunt I cannot say enough about your skills and talent,Amazing!!!!! Researching and deciding to have my procedure was a very exciting yet uncertain experience.You made it very comfortable and pleasing. Anyone reading this, I feel very fortunate to have Dr Hunt as my surgent. I highly recommend Dr Hunt and he will not disappoint you. Thank you, you have truly changed my life. Katherine
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Franca June 8th, 2016

Breast Reconstruction

Almost three years ago I contracted a life-threatening condition called necrotising fasciitis, commonly called the flesh eating disease. This condition is an aggressive skin infection which spreads to deeper tissue, killing cells in the body. The disease occurred in my back and upper arm and being so aggressive a condition, spread to other areas as well. I required immediate lifesaving surgery to remove infected tissue and muscle with the result that I lost significant amount of tissue from my right side torso, upper right arm and shoulder, including most of my tricep muscle and approximately 25% of my right breast. This left me with significant disfigurement on my right side, arm, back, shoulder and breast. There was no option except to have this surgery and even then my life was only saved due to the speedy diagnosis and extraordinary skill and dedication of the surgical team at Concord hospital. In total I had about a dozen different surgical procedures, ranging in duration from a couple of hours to many hours. I was in hospital for several weeks and required extensive and ongoing physical rehabilitation. My recovery period from this massive surgery was very long and even today continues as I learn to deal with the loss of strength and mobility in my arm. I am also having some professional help handling the psychological problems this shocking and unexpected disease caused. I had not given much thought in the couple of years following all the necessary operations to improving my appearance, given the fact that I could very easily have died and was just focussed on rehabilitation. When I began to ask about possible reconstructive surgery I was told that any hope of significant improvement in the way I looked would necessitate major surgery involving among other things, cutting the latissimuss muscle, augmentation of my right breast and corresponding reduction of my left breast to achieve symmetry. I was not convinced of the wisdom in undergoing what was explained to me as complicated and difficult surgery. My reluctance was mainly due to the many operations I had already undergone, many of which involved general anaesthetic, IV drips and all the intrusive things that are involved. Additionally, I was very aware of the physical and mental scars I had suffered and was very apprehensive about further issues. My husband was supportive of whatever path I chose to do and put no pressure on me either way so it became a big decision that I had to make. Dr Ellis Choy took on my case and after many meetings where he went through all the issues, potential side effects and likely outcomes, both physical and psychological, I was eventually convinced that the likely benefits would represent a worthwhile improvement to my self-image. The confidence that I gained from Dr Choy was what finally convinced me to go ahead with the operation. The procedure was fairly lengthy and the recovery has been quite slow. I have had a couple of minor setbacks along the way but Dr Choy and his team have been really fantastic in the post-operative care. Apart from the professionalism they have shown, they have always been very sensitive and supportive and I have always felt that they fully understood what I was going through psychologically. I couldn't be happier now that I've come through the surgery. I know that it's early days yet but even now I look so much better to myself that I feel I'm also happier and looking better to others.
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

DeeN June 22nd, 2016

Breast Reconstruction

I had a right mastectomy 38 years ago followed 3 years later with latissimus dorsi muscle flap and implant reconstruction I had implant trouble over the next few years. Early this year I had a MRI and found I had a ruptured implant it was leaking silicon, hard and very painful. My doctor and breast care nurse recommended me to see Dr Ellis Choy luckily I was able to make an appointment for the next week. Dr Choy was fantastic in explaining the procedures that were available some were not suitable due to having had radiotherapy and trouble with implants over the years, and I did not want to have everything removed and go back to a prosthesis in my bra after all the years of freedom with clothes and swimwear. After talking and asking a lot of questions with Dr Choy I decided to have the procedure with a DIEP Free Flap & Tummy Tuck breast reconstruction. Dr Choy sent me for a special CT scan to map out my blood vessels so when I went for the operation he and his team knew exactly the best blood vessels to use. The day of the surgery I felt very confident about my decision. I knew Dr Choy and his team were very experienced in this procedure. My recovery went very well not a lot of pain and I was able to get up and move around on my own by the third day. Dr Choy or one of his team came every morning to check how every thing was progressing. The care from the nursing staff and breast care nurses was wonderful they made sure I was comfortable and my recovery was continuing. My new breast is amazing it feels and looks like my other breast both in shape and size. I now have a soft warm breast, I can go without a bra and clothes fit and look so much better. My flat tummy is definitely a big bonus. I feel more confident and almost as if I had never had breast cancer. I am so happy I decided to have Dr Ellis Choy to do the procedure. He is a perfectionist and it shows in his work and genuine concern for his patents. Thanks Dr Choy and team.
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Estela June 8th, 2016

Breast Reconstruction

I first met Dr Ellis Choy in July 2015, one year after I had a mastectomy to my left breast (due to a tumour). From my very first consultation I knew that I had found the right doctor for the task. Dr Choy was open and honest, it was easy to talk to him and I felt relaxed and without fear. Twelve months before when I had my left breast removed, it felt like a bad dream. How could this be happening to me? It cannot be happening to me. I was still very much in shock. Dr Choy was very patient with me and explained all the ways and options that would help me get my body back and once again, feel like a woman. The process is no small task, particularly when you question whether you are still the same with one breast less. These doubts foster further questions about what will be in the future. Dr Choy explained all the available options and highlighted the pros and cons. He did not hide anything. Even when, at times during our conversations, he realised that I was not listening, he regained my attention and told me that I must know everything because it is up to me to make the decision. After my first consultation I left and was heading home thinking which choice I will make. I had 3 options and I needed to choose one. A few weeks later I saw Dr Choy again and told him I would opt for the simple option; to put the implant in with also the use of a biological mesh to add extra tissue support. I was aware that choice meant I must have two operations. One to expand my skin to the size of my right breast and then after that, another operation to put the implant in that matches the same size as my right breast. Between these two operations I saw Dr Choy a couple of times simply because he is one of the most caring people that I have ever met, and his support was very valuable. During every surgery I was relaxed because I knew I was in good hands. In other words, the procedures were easier because he had my trust. My post-op care could not have been better. I am absolutely thrilled with my results. I couldn't be happier in my choice of my surgeon or implant. I feel like I am part of the family every time I am over at their office.
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Shakilah February 17th, 2016

Breast Augmentation, Breast Reconstruction

Hi, I am one of the many invisible faces of breast cancer survivors. I am 47 year old personal trainer and have been in remission for 10 years. In 2005 I was diagnosed with left breast cancer for which I was treated with lumpectomy followed by a very heavy course of chemotherapy and radiotherapy. I was very satisfied with the outcomes but not 100% comfortable with my body. I was left with a slight deformity where the lump was removed which caused my bras not to fit properly and would pull to the left causing discomfort. I lived with this for 8 years but toyed with the idea of reconstructive surgery. I considered my situation for many years and with a full understanding of the risks and possible consequences my breast cancer surgeon reluctantly agreed to the reconstructive surgery. I was referred to a couple of plastic surgeons who I was not 100% comfortable with. About 6 months later, I met Dr Ellis Choy and his amazing team at Zilver Lining. Dr Choy is extremely charismatic, respectful and most importantly possesses a wealth of knowledgeable in this field. He didn’t make any promises but proposed a number of options available to me. (My dream was to go from an A cup to a C cup but knew it was just a dream) Over the past 2 years, Dr Choy and his team have been working together in a series of operations to correct the deformity but to create symmetry which eluded us in the first operation. Dr Choy did discuss with me, the process was like running a marathon and there were no quick fixes which stood me in a healthy mindset with my expectations. The 1st operation was quite involved. It required my latissimus dorsi muscle to be removed and inserted into my left breast. A skin flap had also to be cut out of my back to accommodate the larger breast. I was nervous about this procedure and the impacts to my career as I am a personal trainer. All was successful and I was a picture of health within a week. There was NO impact on any areas of my life. I thought the loss of my back muscle would be huge but I barely noticed the difference. Unfortunately, due to the fact that I don’t have a high body fat content, the muscle “melted” away leaving me with a saggy breast and extra skin due to the skin flap. I understood this to be a risk. Dr Choy decided to put an implant into my right breast to create a bench mark to work against with the left breast. I insisted on moving forward. I also wanted an implant put into my left breast. There were even more risks with this and Dr Choy would not proceed until I understood all risks associated. I was very impressed with Dr Choy and the Zilver Lining team. Every dealing was professional, accommodating and ensuring my dignity always with the view of my long term health from a breast cancer care perspective. 2 months ago, I completed my final surgery. I am ecstatic!! I was originally a 10A bra cup size and was hoping for a 10B but secretly dreamed of a 10C. I am now a 10C. My body is absolutely beautiful. My experience was like a marathon as Dr Choy predicted but knowing my outcomes, I would have endured more. I consider myself truly blessed in many ways but especially meeting Dr Choy. He changed my life and he’s been an absolute magician with my body!
 Sam Cunneen

Sam Cunneen

25 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
Western Australia, Australia

MelissaM March 8th, 2016

Breast Reconstruction

I met with Sam to discuss the removal of a fatty lump that had been bothering me under my right arm for nearly 10 years. Not so noticeable for some but to me it was unsightly & stopped me from wearing lovely dresses & certain tops. Within 2 weeks I was extremely lucky to have my procedure booked in. My hospital stay was lovely, the staff were friendly & my recovery has been really great. Only 1 month on and the scar to remove my lesion to the axillary tail in my right breast has healed lovely. I feel great and I can't wait for next summer to put on a strapless dress!!! Thanks so much Sam you are an amazing Surgeon who is great with people and have made a difference to my life. My only regret is that I hadn't met you sooner. Cheers, Melissa
 Pouria Moradi

Pouria Moradi

13 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

DaniBell December 7th, 2015

Breast Augmentation, Breast Reconstruction

Best decision i made for myself, i now have Dr Moradi to thank for making me feel so comfortable in my skin. Dr Moradi was always easy to talk to, replied my emails and answered any questions i had for him. He understood my wants and needs and did such a good job on what i thought would never look like normal breasts. my surgery was 9 weeks ago and i felt like it was an easy recovery for me.
 Pouria Moradi

Pouria Moradi

13 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Aby September 1st, 2014

Breast Reconstruction

My right breast reconstruction diep flap operated by Dr Moradi is one of the most complicated cosmetic surgery. Brilliant job. Thank you Dr Moradi!
Dr. Alex Phoon

Alex Phoon

54 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

jo.c. April 1st, 2015

Breast Reconstruction

Dr Alex Phoon has made a huge difference to how I look and how I feel physically and mentally. Ten years ago, just after my youngest daughter had turned 1, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I had no choice but to undergo a full mastectomy and removal of lymph nodes, chemo and radiotherapy. It was a very traumatic time. At the time my surgeon suggested that I could have an expander and then implant put in, instead of being completely flat. However after time this became contracted and encapsulated. It was much smaller than my normal breast, hard and uncomfortable and made me very self conscious. 14 months ago, due to a fall, the skin became damaged and deteriorated (due to the previous radiotherapy) and would not heal. The implant had to go. I really didn’t want to face the idea of losing what little shape I had to a flat chest area and my original surgeon suggested I would be a candidate for a Diep reconstruction. He pointed me in the direction of Dr Alex Phoon – thank goodness! He is an amazing surgeon but, more than that, he and his staff are so helpful, friendly and caring, so you really feel looked after especially when faced with a big surgical procedure. Initially getting ready for the surgery brought up some painful memories for me, my husband and girls of ten years earlier, but the care I have received throughout and the results are fantastic. My new breast looks great and I now feel so much more comfortable and less self-conscious. I wouldn’t hesitate to highly recommend Dr Alex Phoon to anyone for reconstructive or plastic surgery. Expert surgeon and great care!
 Pouria Moradi

Pouria Moradi

13 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Aby September 1st, 2015

Breast Reconstruction

I had to undergone a breast reconstruction due to breast cancer. Dr Moradi has done a brilliant job. My new breast looks just like it was before. Very happy with the results. Thank you so much Dr Moradi!!
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Purple Girl December 1st, 2014

Tummy Tuck, Breast Reconstruction

I never thought I would be writing this now……..I was diagnosed with breast cancer in August 2010. I had two surgeries. I had a mastectomy on my right breast and a lumpectomy on my left breast. Of course, the cancer was in my right breast, but there were many calcifications in my left breast which required surgical excision for precaution. So as a result, my left breast had become smaller than before, while my right breast was gone! Despite only having one breast left, initially I wasn’t too worried about it, as I have always been a slim person with small breasts. But as time goes by, …….my flat tummy started getting a little bigger. And just in time, I have felt uncomfortable wearing my prostheses inside my bra, as it started feeling itchy and irritating on my skin. So even before I talked to my breast specialist, a decision was made. I was going to have a breast reconstruction and at the same time to have a tummy tuck! So I started my search for a plastic surgeon who would fulfil my life’s important decision for “breast reconstruction with tummy tuck”. After I made many enquires and had a few consultations with few different plastic surgeons, some with my breast surgeon’s referrals, none of them were too keen on the idea of using my abdominal tissue to make new breast as I was repeatedly told I was “too thin” for that as I seemed to lack enough donor tissue from my tummy. I had the impression most of the plastic surgeons I saw didn’t seem to be confident to do so after all, except for Dr Ellis Choy. After my first appointment with Dr Choy, I knew in my heart that I have made the right choice and that he is the perfect plastic surgeon to undertake my breast reconstructive surgery. I had my surgery in December 2014. The “DIEP Free Flap & Tummy Tuck” is the most difficult and technically advanced type of surgery for breast reconstruction. And with no surprise in my smooth postoperative recovery, again I knew, I had made the right decision by choosing Dr Choy to be my breast reconstructive surgeon! Now one year on, I’ve really cherished having a natural right breast reconstruction to match my left breast, and most importantly, I have one nice “flat tummy” which Dr Choy managed to spare my abdominal muscle while strengthening my postural control at the same time. Not only do I feel “whole” again after all these years of breast cancer journey, I really feel a lot more feminine with a completely natural breast reconstruction while enjoying a new waist line from my “tummy tuck” procedure! Thank you so much Dr Choy for changing my life!
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

WendyG February 1st, 2015

Breast Reconstruction

Hi All, I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer in September 2013. After completing 3 months of Chemotherapy, I decided to go ahead and have a double Mastectomy. After speaking with my Breast Surgeon in 2014, he referred me to Dr Choy for a consultation. Dr Choy took the time to go through what he thought would be the best way to proceed with my operation, and in May 2014 Dr Choy completed a Bilateral Prophylactic Mastectomy +Reconstruction with Implants. Unfortunately due to various wound healing complications after surgery, both implants had to be removed in June 2014. My body clearly wasn’t reacting well. I guess it could be due to the Intensive Chemotherapy that I had and its implications on my body. I did have previous Breast Implants when diagnosed with my Breast Cancer and discovered these were PIP implants through Dr Choy after the operation.It took quite a bit of healing on my part, and after lengthy discussions with Dr Choy we both decided to proceed with a Bilateral Latissimus Dorsi Flap Breast Reconstruction with tissue expander/implant sequence in February 2015. The operation went very well this time and I am extremely pleased with the results! I know I am extremely blessed to be in the safe hands of a true professional and an excellent Specialist Plastic Surgeon like Dr Choy. Thanks Dr Choy! You’re the best.
Dr. Alex Phoon

Alex Phoon

54 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Sarah September 1st, 2015

Breast Reconstruction

Ok you ready ? DR ALEX PHOON IS AMAMAMAZINNGGGGGGG . 5 years ago not that long ago when it comes to the life span of implants , I had my original ones in done by a surgeon who was still refered to as being good , and I thought he was till I met Alex. He was humble , explained in a simple manner where I didn't feel rushed or overloaded with information, he gave me options and was very patient with me and you think he sounds good ; the girls behind the scenes are even better. Nurse Jenny and miss Emily were down to earth and so sweet I felt completely comfortable , prices were awesome and in the end I feel like I owe him even more !! Thanks Alex and thank you girls at the breast clinic . ✖️
Mr Kourosh Tavakoli

Kourosh Tavakoli

51 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

MISS MARIA November 1st, 2015

Breast Augmentation, Breast Lift - Mastopexy, Breast Reconstruction, , Tuberous Breast Deformity

I recently had a procedure with Dr Kourosh Tavakoli and I can honestly say it is the best thing I've ever done. From the moment I met Dr Tavakoli, I knew I was going to be in good hands; the hands of a professional as he knew exactly what I needed and wanted from the moment I had my first consultation. He made me feel very comfortable and put my mind at ease, with his welcoming, accommodating and absolutely stunning team I knew I had made the right choice. The day of my surgery I couldn't believe how calm and relaxed they made me feel, as I was about to do something that I've wanted to do for a long time. I am so happy with the results because it has improved my look and overall wellbeing. I highly recommend Dr Tavakoli to any one who is thinking about undergoing plastic surgery because as soon as you meet him, all your worries and doubts about the surgery will be gone by the time he says hello!
 Ellis Choy

Ellis Choy

253 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

TinaG July 1st, 2015

Breast Reconstruction

Four years ago I got diagnosed with breast cancer, I was 41 years and my life changed forever from that moment. I decided to have double mastectomy at that time and I didn't know what to do. I was scared and just wanted my cancer to go so that’s why I chose to have double mastectomy. After undergoing all my treatment I thought yes I am now cancer free, I was very happy and looking forward to my new me but after the treatment done I spent a lot of time alone because everyone has to go back to their normal routine. After so many days and weeks and months and two years I became very depressed and hated my new body. I can't find any dress to make me look like a woman again, because I am very skinny and always been a size 6. One day I was having a very sad moment and thinking I needed to do something about myself, and I went back to my breast surgeon, my GP and my oncologist asking them to give me a referral to see a specialist plastic surgeon to have breast reconstruction. All 3 of them recommended me to see Dr Ellis Choy. I was still not sure whether I should go ahead with breast reconstruction. At my first consultation with Dr Choy, he explained thoroughly what needed to be done. Since it was a delayed reconstruction, it would involve two staged operations with tissue expansion & implant approach with also use of biological mesh for extra reinforcement due to my body being too thin & small. For me I thought using this way I won’t have any extra scars from other parts of body especially when I’m so skinny and have nothing else to spare for my breast reconstruction! Before the surgery, I was ready but nervous because I could still remember the trauma after mastectomy. But straight after my operation, I was so happy that I finally have my breasts again! I was in pain for two weeks but it was all worthwhile. My scars healed very nicely and there has been no further pain with my new breasts except for my breast skin being a bit tight for a while. It has been 3 months now after my breast reconstruction, I cannot believe how real my new breasts look and how Dr Choy fixed all my previous scarring. I can now wear my 10B bra or a bikini and also wear tight tops or dresses without worrying. I am very happy with my breast reconstruction operation and all my friends can see the results and said Dr Choy’s work is so good telling me that my new breasts look so natural and proportional with my body frame. Words can’t express how grateful I am for the amazing work that Dr Choy has done for me. Thank you so much!
Dr. Alex Phoon

Alex Phoon

54 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Trula Davis May 1st, 2015

Breast Reconstruction

I was diagnosed with breast cancer 2 years ago and had a mastectomy followed by 5 months of chemotherapy and then 6 weeks of daily radiation. I had decided right from the beginning of this horrible journey that I was going to get a breast reconstruction as soon as possible after my treatment. I was referred to Dr Alex Phoon by my breast surgeon. I also saw 2 other plastic surgeons however from the moment I met with Dr Phoon I felt comfortable and knew that he was the surgeon I wanted to use for my bi-lateral breast reconstruction. Dr Phoon is a very compassionate, caring and professional surgeon with exceptional pre & post operative care. Dr Phoon explained to me exactly what he was planning to do and never once made me feel uncomfortable to ask any questions. The results of my reconstruction are amazing and I couldn't be happier. I have now completed my reconstruction with bi-lateral nipple and areola reconstruction and once my scars fade it will be very hard to tell that my breasts aren't natural.I am so happy that I chose to have Dr Phoon as my surgeon he has definitely exceeded all my expectations and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dr Phoon to anyone.
 Pouria Moradi

Pouria Moradi

13 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

Nicole_Dean July 1st, 2013

Breast Reconstruction

I carry the gene mutation BRCA1 and decided to undergo bilateral mastectomy and deip free flap reconstruction. Dr Moradi was brilliant. I have had several complications with my process as my body rejected one of the flaps but throughout all the issues and surgeries to rectify these issues Dr Moradi has been amazing. Always there for me no matter when I need him. For anyone needing any reconstruction or even general plastic surgery I can't recommend him enough.
Mr Kourosh Tavakoli

Kourosh Tavakoli

51 Reviews

Plastic Surgeon
New South Wales, Australia

lamby_lamb May 1st, 2015

, Breast Reconstruction

Hey Everyone,Just wanted to share my experience with any girls out there thinking about getting a breast augmentation. Looking for the right surgeon can be a very overwhelming experience and if you have had your breasts done or are thinking about it seriously then you know what I'm talking about. I searched websites and forums for years before a finally decided on my surgeon, the reason being is because i knew i wouldn't be eligible for the 'standard' breast augmentation that lots of girls can go for....as i had tuberous breasts that most likely were going to complicated.I was watching sunrise one morning and there was a story on a young woman who had serious complications from an overseas surgery, and she had gone to Dr Tavakoli to have them fixed. I went on his website and noticed he specialised in reconstructive surgery and had done some amazing results on tuberous breasts. I finally went for a consult with him after years of deliberating whether or not to go ahead and do it, i felt confident in him and his ability to sort my tube boobs out! Plus after reading into the risks involved in surgery's i also wanted a board certified surgeon who could fix any complication if it were to ever arise....and I'm very thankful that i did...My surgery day went like a breeze, everybody was so lovely and comforting as i was so nervous! Dr Tavakoli recommended that i have tear drop shaped implants because i wanted a more natural look, and he chose moderate plus profile which i love because they are a bit wider and filled out my huge chest gap! He also did a benelli lift on my nipples to even them up in size and shape and did some fat transferring around the implants to fill out the lack off lower breast pole.As soon as I looked at my boobs after the surgery I was stoked! Even tho they were swollen i finally had the breasts of a real woman and was over the moon. A few days later i did notice some swelling at the top of my right breast so i msg my surgeon straight away. Even tho it was the weekend and the office was closed Dr Tavakoli immediately got back to me with my concerns and asked me to come back to the surgery straight away after seeing the photo i sent him. He assembled a whole team of people together at a moments notice to sort everything out with my implant, then got me onto the right antibiotics.Unfortunately i was unlucky to get some complications after my surgery but Thankfully Dr Tavakoli and his team got onto it straight away, Im really glad i trusted my gut and went with the surgeon i wanted. Dr T and his nurse Jess have shown the best follow up care ever, constantly checking on my well being.I now love my results!
Page: 1